Fill Up My Cup

Yesterday as I sat in the car with my family, I had one of those, what I like to call “overflowing”, moments. We had just left our friends with whom we had spent the weekend, and I was overwhelmed with the blessings of it. Eight adults, twelve children ranging in age from two and a half to eight meet up twice a year in a youth hostel. Often, especially with one family that lives furthest away, there is little to no contact in-between, but we always manage to pick-up right where we left off, as if six months was a simple moment in time. The children feel their parents’ enthusiasm already the week before, which lends to their already intact anticipation. It doesn’t matter that this constellation of children only happens twice a year: they greet each other with a “hey” and immediately take off to catch the castle ghost. The adults sit together much too late drinking red wine and sparkling wine and laughing wholesome, healthy belly-laughs, even as we share our latest concerns. It is uncomplicated and harmonious and every time I leave with a smile on my face and full of happiness.

These “overflowing” moments come, but not all too often. Maybe because I do not take enough time to sit quietly and look out the window at the snow-covered hills like on the way home yesterday. And the moments do not last long. Children beginning every sentence with, “Mama! Can you…” soon break my reverie and bring me back to reality, as do my heavy eyes from the last late nights. But in that moment tears come to my eyes as I am overwhelmed with the blessings of great friends, lovely children, an amazing husband and a weekend to enjoy all of these. My cup has been filled to overflowing.

May this week be a good one for you, filled with an “overflowing” moment (or two).

About doralynelle

A would-be writer, stay-at-home mother of three, I find joy in the smallest things, love to laugh and can be super grumpy. Reading, writing, yoga and running are my favorite free-time activites, although enjoying a nice red wine is pretty high on the list too. Living in Germany as an American gives me lots to think about and certaintly to write about.
This entry was posted in Culture, Life in Germany and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

